The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaint

The business manager of the television station decides to increase the time devoted to weather and local news, as he believed that after the increase cover of national news(resulting in a lesser coverage for local and weather news) caused the complaints from viewers and cancellation of advertising contracts from local businesses. I feel there is a need for more evidence for the manager to go on with his decision.

Firstly, there is a need of information about the percentage of viewers who are complaining about the stations coverage of weather and local news. For instance, if there are only complaints from around 100 viewers with a station where around 1 million people tune in every night, then then station should not be worried about losing viewers. If a reasonable ratio of the viewers are station are complaining about the news coverage then the station could consider changing the content of news they are providing to the public.

Secondly, there is no indication whatsover that local businesses have cut their contracts with the television status just because of the news coverage of the station. For example, it could be the case that over the last year, the local businesses, having a contract with the station, have not been making enough money to continue their contract. Or due to some regional factors all local companies have started shutting down, hence cancelling their advertising contracts. There is a need for more data as to why local companies have been cancelling their contract with the station before the station decides to change the coverage.

Finally, the manager doesn't provide any information that the television station is losing advertising revenue. For instance, it could be possible that national businesses have started advertising in their station, in the place of local businesses, due to the increased national news coverage over the past year. If this is the case, then toning down the national coverage could affect their relationship with national businesses.

To conlude, I feel there is a need for more evidence, related to the customers complaints, that is, why they are complaining and the number of complaints being received. Also data related to why local businesses have stopped advertising in the station should be collected, and whether the station is losing revenue due to it. Thus, the manager, if able to collect the information requested above, will be able to make a more educated decision about the station's coverage keeping his viewers and revenue in mind.