The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

One learns many lessons throughout their life from many people, starting from his or her parents at home. The prompt recommends that the best way to teach anyone is through noticing and praising one’s positive actions and turning their eye for an action which is seemed to be negative. I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that teaching shouldn’t be done through giving attention for two reasons.

To begin, neglecting actions which are perceived to be immoral or unacceptable doesn’t teach one to not continue doing those actions. For instance, if a student is stealing stuff from his or her classmates and if the student was caught by their teacher then not explaining how stealing stuff from others is bad could lead the student to believe that there is nothing wrong in stealing. This sets a bad example for him and many of his future actions could be based on this. It is important to acknowledge the wrongdoings of a student by the teacher and point it out to them so that they can understand their mistake and try not to repeat them in the future.

Further, one does not deserve attention for all of the good things they do. For instance, a boss who is supposed to aid and assist his employees shouldn’t praise his or her employees every time they complete their task on time. After all he is paying them to precisely do that. Praising an employee too much could make them overconfident and expect higher pay or a promotion.

One could argue that by praising one’s accomplishments and ignoring their mistakes the mentee would try to please their mentor’s by only doing actions which are perceived to be good and avoid one’s that are not. However, one won’t always be with their mentor and when they step out into the new world their actions may not be driven by the intention to satisfy their mentors but to receive acknowledgement from others. A teacher should acknowledge the goods and bads of their students but with a limit.