A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Nation's have always be interested and investing in their education system as the nation's future development is based on its present students. The prompt recommends that a nation should enforce all of their students to have the same curriculum in school until they start pursuing higher levels of education. I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should have flexible curriculums for three reasons.

To begin, students should be able to explore various subjects while they are at school, but a fixed curriculum will not help them do so. For example, a student with a passion in computer science and physics should be allowed to explore various subjects like robotics. If the school isn't allowed to teach a variety of subjects due to it's affliation with the national curriculum then students will not be able to dip their noses in other interesting fields. In the end, when they are about to enter college, they won't be able to choose a major due to lack of experience.

Secondly, with a fixed curriculum, then there is no chance for students to study region specific languages. For instance, in a country like India with a vast number of languages, a Telugu student in a school with an immutable curriculum, where the only languages which are supposed to be learnt are English and Hindi, will never be able to learn about his mother tongue and it's history at his school. Due to a curriculum common throughout the nation students will not be exposed to their native languages at school, which may be a negative impact of their heritage and culture.

Finally, with a fixed curriculum, the nation will not be able to compete with other nations in various worldwide olympiads. For example, if the nation's curriculum doesn't include computer science then students from that country cannot represent them in the IOI(Internation Olympiad for Informatics) which is a prestigious competitive coding competition for high school students all around the world. It is important for students of a country to have global exposure and compete with students from all around the world to have a rich learning experience.

To conclude, one may argue that if a nation has a fixed curriculum, then all private and public schools will teach the same syllabus to everyone, ensuring no wrong information is taught to children. However, the solution for teaching false information is not forcing all of the school's to have the same curriculum, but keeping a check on the content which is being taught at schools. Thus, nation's should allow their school's to come up with their own curriculums.