People should undertake risky actions only after they have carefully considered its consequences Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take I

There are basically two types of people, one who jumps head first into every thing they do and the others who carefully assess their situation and the outcomes of what they are about to do. This prompt suggests that while undertaking an action which could be ‘risky’ one should carefully evaluate its after effects. I agree with this recommendation as I agree with the saying ‘It’s better to be safe than sorry’.

To begin, an action can only be said to be risky once all of its consequences have been considered. For instance, if a biker decides not to wear a helmet while driving his bike, then he will understand that not wearing a helmet is dangerous once he considers the possibilities of getting in an accident. In this case if the biker didn’t think about the chance of getting in an accident and dying because he didn’t wear a helmet then how would he have determined that as an unsafe action.

Further, it is best to be ready for the worst. For instance, consider a man in his 30s with a wife and two children. If he is planning for a career change then he should completely think about all of the possible events which could happen during his career change. If his family was completely dependent on his earnings then he would have to consider how they would survive until he had a stable income in his new career. Else without proper planning his childrens tuition fee, house rent, and groceries would all be unaccounted for. If he would take all of these into consideration it would help him decide if the career change was worth it and in case something unfortunate happens he would have already planned for it.

To add, sometimes all risky actions may not be worth it. For example, if one wants to buy an expensive car to show off to their neighbors, costlier than she can afford. Buying this car would require her to take a loan from the bank. Here if she thought about her decision she would understand the car isnt worth putting a hole in her bank account just for improving her social stature.

In contrast, one may argue that if we keep on thinking about stuff then we may never be able to take risks or we may lose the opportunity. But if one is able to assess their situation then they would also know what types of risks they can afford to take and act accordingly.