The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To better understand if the television manager is correct in their conclusion that they must revert the changes made last year surrounding late-night television programming, we must first analyze their motivation.The business manager of the television station provides two reasons for increasing local news and weather's screen time. The first being that most complaints that the station had received from viewers over the past year were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. Not all of these complaints may pertain to the actual amount screen-time that local news or weather has. They could instead be complaints of local news and weather's content, and not just the amount of time that it is on the air. To know if audience members want local news and weather to regain its late-night screen time, the complaints must be analyzed.

The second motivation for the manager's position were local businesses cancelling their advertising time during late-night news. While that can be disheartening to lose advertising revenue, simply reverting back to local news and weather may not be addressing the issue. Frankly, we do not know why local businesses have suddenly canceled that advertising contracts and the lack of local news and weather time may not have been a contributing factor.

The two motivating factors the manager gives for increasing air-time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level do not provide enough evidence to support their position. The complaints received were concerned with coverage, not air-time. Advertising contracts with local businesses were canceled, and the reason for this is unknown. Therefore, restoring weather and local news to former levels of airtime may not bring advertisers back, nor ebb the flow of complaints the television station receives from viewers.