The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level

The argument stated talks about a memorandum from the business manager of a television station which states that over the past 1 year, greater time has been devoted to the national news at the expense of time devoted for the local news and weather news. This has resulted in the complaints from the customer regarding the loss in coverage of the local news.It further states about the loss of advertising contracts and hence arrives at the conclusion that there should be enhancement in the coverage of the local news and weather news in all the news channels. The authors fleeting conclusion on the basis of uncorroborated assumptions are indefensible due to the various flaws.

The foremost flaw is when he states about the the complaints received from the customers. There is no concrete evidence of the number of complaints. There should be a thorough survey about the number of viewers, time devoted in watching a particular program and percentage of complaints from the customers before arriving at a conclusive decision .

The second flaw is about the very short time span of the change in the news program which is only one year. Further it states that the viewers have complained regarding the coverage of the local news or the weather news. The complaints nowhere talk about the time of the coverage. It may also be inferred that the complaints are regarding the quality of the coverage. Hence this further make the conclusion of the author inconclusive.

The third flaw is regarding the cancellation of the contract of the advertising agencies in the the program of the late night hours. It is to be noted again that the reason of the cancellation nowhere states that it has been due to the change in the nature of the program or the quality of the program itself. Hence the claim of the author again come under scrutiny.

Also the author comes to the sweeping conclusion that there should be change in all the news channel of the programs being covered in the late night hours. This can be a very extreme step and it may also lead to further cancellation of the advertising contracts because the problem in a single news program doesn't warrant to change the program coverage of all the channels.

Hence in light of the above stated flaws, the author's assertion to change the coverage of all the news channels at the late night hour stands indefensible. The author must make an authentic survey regarding the time of coverage, quality of coverage, exact reasons for the cancellation of contracts before arriving at a conclusive decision.