When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

The stated issue is quite subjective in nature and needs critical evaluation before coming at a definite conclusion. It is a contentious issue whether a historic building should be destroyed and make space for the modern buildings which can be of greater use in this world which is moving so hungrily for the space for development, generating more and more profit.

The categorization of building is quintessential in this issue as the building is a an ancient monument, a prehistoric structure, a historic place of worship like a temple, mosque or the church or a very dilapidated building. Hence the view of the archaeological department is of significant importance and only after a rigorous research , the planner should arrive a decisive conclusion if the building can be demolished for the new development.

A modern planner cannot have a final say in these matters because for him , it is only the present day context of developing a city but on the intelligent opinion and research of the the archaeological department of the city, the modern planner can have a more intelligent and inclusive design for the city. If the planner understands the aspect of the prehistoric building, he/she can plan in a more efficient manner where the city can be developed in a modern futuristic outlook while also preserving the cultural integrity of the city.

Keeping the cultural outlook of the city intact can be greatly beneficial in generating billion of dollars in revenue as it boosts tourism both domestically and internationally. Millions of tourists throng the cities of Europe to have a glimpse of the Renaissance building, churches, arts and architecture. It was possible only due to the futuristic outlook of the planners of the various cities of Europe. Vatican City is of utmost importance in the world of tourism only due to the preserved arts and architecture like the Saint Peter's basilica which every tourist dreams to have glimpse.

The other classical example can be the world renowned and historic temples of India- the Meenakshi Temple, Jain Dilwara Temple, Sun Temple of Konark in Orissa, which helps us to have a glimpse of the past rich and glorious culture of India where arts and architecture was greatly promoted by the rulers of the time.

However, it cannot be ruled out that the modern cities are lacking for space and hence any space for development is very lucrative for the designers and planners to grab that space for development. The old dilapidated building which dont hold a lot of significance in history can be given way for the modern development. It is considered futile to waste a significant amount of money of the government in its preservation if the building is redundant and insignificant.

Hence, it can be reasonably concluded that the historic building are of great significance in promoting tourism, generating a significant revenue for the government. The modern planners must rope in the advice of the archaelogical department of the city before arriving at a decision whether to demolish a building or not. It is only the all inclusive design of the city which should be promoted.