The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

The argument refers to a memo from the Vice President of a company named Quiot Manufacturing stating that in the past one year that there had been 30% more on the job accidents in comparison to the nearby Panoply Industries Plant where there are shifts with one hour less compared to Quiot Manufacturing. On the experts view he attributes these increase in accidents to fatigue and sleep deprivation and comes to the fleeting conclusion that to reduce accidents there there should be a reduction of one hour in the working hours of each shifts, thereby leading to increased productivity. The reasons and assumptions of the Vice President seems to be very impulsive. There are various flaws in his decision and are hence indefensible.

The first and foremost flaw is the comparison of the two industries - Quiot Industries and Panoply Industries Plant. There is no mention of the nature of the company if they are involved in the same business. It would be naive to compare one Oil and gas Company with the another company in the textile industry. Further the stated statistics of 30% increase in on-job accidents of the Quiot Industries compared to the Polyply Industries never states the number of employees in both the organisation. If the number of employees in the first company is very large compared to the second compared company then a 30% more than the second shall be infinitesimal.

The second flaw is the direct attribution of more accidents is to less working hour and sleep deprivation. The argument never talks about the safety standards of the companies. It is quite likely that the more accidents in the Quiot Industries may be due to poor safety standards and ethics which has led to more accidents and not the more number of working hours.

The third flaw is regarding the sweeping conclusion of reducing the number of working hours in each of the shifts. It is quite possible that the accidents may have taken place in the night shifts which may have been of longer duration. Further , the accidents may have taken place due to the shortage of staff and the less skilled staff in that particular shift. Reducing the working hours in each of the shift may prove to be counterproductive for the company in the long run.

Hence it can be reasonable asserted that due to the above stated flaws, the authors sweeping conclusion do not stand the test of scrutiny and are hence indefensible. The author must do due diligence ascertaining the exact cause of accidents before coming to the stated conclusion. Further, one years statistics is not enough to prove a certain assumption.