The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Nowadays everyone has one specific goal about their profits, they seek for various ways that can bring them lucrative approaches to gain much more money. In this order, the writer of the argument recommends that the time assigned to weather and local news should have been restored to its previous level in order to attract more audiences to the program and to avoid losing much more advertising income; however, this recommendation can not be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that most of the nags received from audiences have occurred because of time reduction in the mentioned program. However, there is no evidence to show that these nags have something to do with time reduction. For instance, maybe these complaints related to the quality of this program or maybe the broadcaster has been changed and the new one cannot perform as well as the last one does. Also, even there is no witness to illustrate how much time was the program declined? Perhaps it just was declined for 1 minute, and this meager time declination has nothing to do with viewers’ complaints.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer mentioned the abolishing of local businesses’ advertisements followed by diminishing the program time. However, there is no testament to definitely prove that this is the case. Perhaps these businesses do not need to pay for their commercials anymore and they reach to their acme of well-knowing; or perhaps the program’s payments have been dramatically increased that do not let them invest for it and they prefer to advertising somewhere else like another program, on billboards in a city, on the websites and so on.

A third issue with the argument is that the writer assumes that things remain the same over a year. However, in most cases this is not true. Maybe one year ago there were few programs support weather and local news and people would not aware this sort of news unless they follow the program; but now by variety in programs and different devices, even todays cell phones, it is ridicules to spend time on just one specific program.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was illustrated in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is dubious. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all expunged.