The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The decision made by the business manager of a television station above was made by certain assumptions and these need to be analyzed carefully so that the decision ends up correctly.In order to compensate for the losses he proposes to increase the time devoted to the local and weather news.But this assumptions and argument lack some of the evidences to prove it correct.

The business manager specified that decreasing the time periods of weather and local news increased the complaints from the viewers but he didn't mention how much time did the weather and local news decreased.It can be for 10 minutes or more than an hour.Without a proper assumption he can directly say that decreasing of the local news lead to the complaints.

He also mentioned that viewers were concerned with their stations coverage of weather and local news only because of the time length.But this also can't be true without any evidence.The viewers complaint because they found the coverage of the news very disturbing or effecting their life or thinking and effecting their political leader.The assumption made up there is not strong enough without any evidence.

He even mentioned that local businesses that used to advertise during late-nights news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with them but it can't be true .They can be many issues why they cancelled their advertising late night like they might be any issues between the television station and the local businesses which is not mentioned clearly in the argument.

Overall,the business manager should reconsider his assumptions in this situation and provide a better approach to increase their viewers and avoid losing future advertising revenues not only by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level but even by sorting out the problems or internal issues with the local businesses and should produce effective news in their local news.