The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the business manager recommends that as if the goal is to attract more audiences and profit, the program should restore the time on weather and local news. However, the proposed statements are flawed in several respects. So, before assessing the efficacy of the claim, several pieces of evidence need to be established.

First, we are told the alarming news that during the past year, viewers argue that the coverage of weather and local news was been overly occupied by the national news. Still, before we accept this as a fact, the manager should bring out some evidence that the negative responses from viewers take up a large percentage. The sample pool should be able to represent the majority of audiences. However, we see no such procedures and have good reasons to doubt if the result is representative enough to reflect that the new arrangement is negative.

Then we were told that due to this new arrangement, local companies stopped the advertisement contract to the late-night news program. Just for the record here, the memo does not provide any evidence on what reason leads the contract to end. It could be, what, however, that the local businesses are approaching an alternative way to promote themselves through cheaper methods, for say printed posters. Unless the author can state out a specific reason that the contract is directly connected to the shortening of weather and local news, we can not say so with any certainty.

So to avoid losing any more viewers, the program should restore the time to the previous level. Before embarking on some great big changes to the program, the manager should be able to evaluate all the reasons on why to switch back. The weakness of this argument is that it simply could not prove the connection between the new program and its effect. The author seems to assume that the correlation between the canceled contract and the new program should be the main cause. So clearly, the manager needs to think this through, yes, more slowly.

The best we can say about this proposal is that it tells us what we already knew: Experts should find the main reason on why the contract ended and whether there are high percentages of negative responses. Yet, to strengthen it, the manager needs to provide detail and comprehensive evidence.