You have long been friend with someone. If they do something that you don’t like, should you still be friends with him or her?

It is indisputable that the friend plays an important role in our daily life. Today, a heated debate on whether one should disconnect the relationship if a friend makes a terrible mistake. The answer differs considerably from individual to individual. As far as I am concerned, the connection between friends should not be cut off just by one flaw in their behavior. My argument for these points is listed as follows.

To start with, as a human being, it is almost unlikely to possess a friendship without any conflict and argument. But the key point to maintain a long relationship is how one makes up when making mistakes. Take my own experience for an example, once in class, my friend Tom took my equipment and tools for drawing without my permission. Because of this reason, I spent the whole afternoon searching for my missing properties and could not work on my drawing project. After the whole day, he eventually came to me and returned my tools and as you might expect, I did not want to speak one word to him. Under this circumstance, he approached to me apologizing and brought one of my favorite drinks for forgiveness. Thus, after I saw his effort on reclaiming our relationship, I accepted him.

In addition, standing as a friend's perspective, we can express our real emotion if they make mistakes. If we choose to accept their apology without telling them on how we feel about the certain issue, it is likely that they will repeat making the same flaw over and over again. To illustrate, back in the days when I was in the basketball team, one of my teammates have a bad habit of drinking other water without asking. So one day I came to him and told him that his behavior is unacceptable and if he is unwilling to change, he will gradually lose more friends. And from that day on, he really altered his action and ask for permission before drinking.

Admittedly, everything has two sides and some affairs might be way too far over one's limitation. For instance, as for me, I simply could not accept anyone to criticize my family member. Moreover, I can not accept any excuse or reason even if it is only a joke. However, as friends been with each other for a long time, we all know one's limitation and would try our best to prevent these problems or topics to occur.

All in all, taking into account of these factors, if the issue is in an acceptable range, we should accept their apology and forgive their mistakes so the friendship can last in the long run. That is not to say that other opinions are totally out of merits. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.