The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

We need to collect specific data related to the following -

1. Time devoted to the national news, local news and weather news over the last five years and see (by comparing the data) if the local news and weather news coverage has actually reduced on the show .

2. Advertising revenue collected over the last five years & The composition of revenue (local advertisers, national adveritisers, international adveritisers) -who contributes how much. Comparison of the data has to be done to see if the revenue contributed by local advertisers has fallen, to see if overall revenue collected from the all the advertisers has fallen.

3. Viewership data over the last five years & see if there is actually any fall in the viewership.

After collecting all the data , we need to see if there is any corelation between the above three data -

a.If the viewership has fallen due to less time being devoted (allegedly) to local & weather news.

b. If the advertising contracts have been cancelled due to the less time being devoted to local and weather news.

If after doing all of the above we see - a fall in the overall revenue, viewership and conclude that it is because of the less time devoted to local & weather news- we should devote more time to them. But if there is no corelation between the fall in viewership and contracts cancellation - we have to look for other sources of such downturn in the fortunes of the show.