As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Humans have devised varied technological ways to solve the numerous problems that surround them. From the air conditioners , computers to the new era of fourth industrial revolution including Artificial intelligence , 3D printing , Biotechnology and much more, humanity has come a long way. But what are its effects on us, have we ever thought about it ?

Some people say that our dependence on technology has increased to such an extent that we have forgotten many skills and ideas, they say that technology has led to a ‘de-skilling’ of the workforce. The simplest example such people give is that of a calculator, overdependence on which has led to a reduced manual ability to calculate. Artificial intelligence now stares them in the face and the prospect of computers taking decisions for us in our day-to-day life worries them. While such technologies were brought in for human comfort, it has reduced human effort to such an extent that many can’t pass a day without their mobile phones. I agree with this argument that overdependence has certainly promoted a sedentary lifestyle where we just sit back and order the ‘genie’ to do even the most basic tasks for us.

But that is just one side of the argument. Technology isn’t as bad as the supporters of the proposition say. Technology has allowed us to delegate the mundane tasks to the devices and focus on the bigger, more complex issues. Manual scavenging is a major problem in India and some technology lovers have created a robot to eradicate this social evil of manual scavenging in the state of Kerala,India. How can such a technology be criticised – which is saving the humanity from disgrace?. Technological progress has also helped us to make further advances in our ability to solve problems – e.g. simulation models of monsoon, created by supercomputers will help us understand the complex process of monsoon rains, which will be a boon for the farmers of India. Also, there are many fields where any kind of human error can’t be tolerated e.g. in Manned space missions , in such a project technological precision and accuracy can be the only saving grace.

Technology , like most things in the world, can’t be put into the binary of ‘good’ or ‘bad’. Technology is just the ‘means’, but the ‘ends’ or the purpose, depends upon the humans , who will use or misuse it. Over-reliance on anything is bad. Addiction, be it of drugs or technology, can’t be a good thing. Hence, we need to solve the problem of technology-addiction or over-reliance on technology but technology is here to stay and is important for human progress. The concerns about technology becoming a ‘master’ of the ‘ human-slave’ is real (like, in Artificial Intelligence), but those concerns can’t become a cause to abandon technology altogether. We must keep the technology subordinated to the cause of human welfare and we should keep sufficient checks and balances so that the concerns expressed above are simultaneously addressed.