A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Students are the assets of a Nation. Every country invests in them and their future so that the Nation shines like a bright star. Access to education and the quality of education should be the main focus of any nation that wants to see a hardworking & a productive citizenry.

Our society is full of inequalities ,on the basis of caste, gender,race,ethnicity, religion etc - which affects the type of education a student has access to. In the Indian Society, which has such a vast cultural,racial and ethnic plurality , it is important to provide students a uniform curriculum - a national curriculum. A national curriculum will allow them to attain the same level of educational competence, irrespective of their socio-economic background. The difference between the education of rich and poor students is starkly visible in India where the rich students go to the private schools and the poor students can afford education at government schools. Such a segregated schooling system affects the learning outcome of students. Rich students end up getting better english education, better access to extra-curricular activities and overall better facilities, unlike their underprivileged peers. A National curriculum will also allow the nation to use the same yardstick to judge the students' abilities. To create a uniformly educated citizenry , a national curriculum can be a good idea.

Unfortunately, the world we live in is an imperfect place. Some people hold power , privilege & thus remain dominant in the society. Such dominant social groups can impose their culture ,language, way of thinking on those who are underprivileged. Such an attempt at homogenisation can create social unrest , e.g Pakistan's attempts to impose a national language (Urdu) on the Bengali-Speaking Bangladesh led to bloody war which led to the partition of Pakistan.

Thus, I think the ideal solution is to focus on Quality of education, not on uniformity of the content. Our focus should be to encourage critical thinking in the students, not to create a citizenry who thinks the same way and speaks the same language . Local cultures ,way of life ,regional sensitivities must be respected, to not erode one's pride in one's culture and to not erase one's unique identity. We should allow diversity to prosper. We should allow cultures to mix with each other. Education should lead to peaceful co-existence and not towards a homogenised future.