The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument the author uses the memorandum from the buisness manager of a televison station , here the manager states they had received complaints from the viewers regarding the increase in time to national news and providing less time to weather and local news. also the late night news program have cancelled their contract. By keeping this unwarrented assumptions the manager makes a descion to devote more time to the weather and local news.

The managers states that they have received complains from the viewers regarding the national news, perhaps he fails to mention the count of the viewers who complained to the television station .perhaps there might be more number of viewers who might prefer to watch national news at that time rather than local and weather news.

also the manager states that they have lost advertising contracts.this might be an unwarrented statement as the manager fails to mention the reason behind it. there might be chances that the way they deliver is not that efficient. also the advertising companies might have got good contracts from other televison stations.

If the manager would have mentioned the above evidence it would have strengthened his conclusion. Based on the arguements that the manager has given it would be imprudent to come to such a decsion.