The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, the author concludes to restore the time devoted to weather and local news in the late night show which was relegate by the national news. However, the author support his argument with three unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiate, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, The author has no supporting evidence for the complaints received from viewers concerning the coverage of weather and local news. It is possible that, the complaints are very insignificant and not important. It is also possible that, these complaints are not associated with late night news program but, with news program from other time in the day. Author should be more specific about the complaint receipt before making justification for his conclusion.

Second of all, Author assumes that the local news program canceled their advertising contract because of the increased time in national news. Perhaps, Those companies canceled their contract because of economic situation in the country.

Maybe these companies canceled the contract because they got other advertising opportunity elsewhere. The author should do more research on why these local businesses are retracting their contract before arriving into conclusion with unfounded assumption.

Finally, Author assumes that restoring time devoted to weather and local news to formal level is only way to attract viewers to the program and to eschew loosing any further advertising revenues. They can introduce more attracting topics to their news program like, case study of social problems, talk show with politicians etc in order to entice viewers.

In sum, It may be possible to avoid loosing viewers and advertising revenue by restoring weather and local news time to its former level. Nevertheless, as we stands now, the argument is based on unfounded assumptions that renders the conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, author should provide evidences to support his view. Studying the complaints receipt, researching why local businesses are retracting from advertising and finding alternatives for viewer attraction may be some evidences.