People should question the rule of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

If we look at the history of most of the countries, the changes and progress had taken place because of people questioning the rule of the authority. The transition from autocratic to democratic rules in a country can be regarded as a result of it. I am consonant with the statement , that passively accepted rules of authority should be questioned by the people. Since, the interrogation is generally a thought of peoples for the necessary changes on the authority rules, It doesn’t mean it has to be implemented by the authority.

Take, For example, The revolution movement started by mahatma gandhi in India for their independence from British rulers. If there was no man like mahatma gandhi to question the British authority, India would never have been independent country like today. The changes and revolution commenced in the country only after people begin to question the rules of the authority.

Similarly, Nepal was a country ruled by king for many centuries until a people’s movement for democracy advocate to eradicate the authority ran by king’s policy. Different political parties and citizens united together to overthrow the kings throne which brought a democratic changes in the country.

Recently in Nepal, There has been burgeoning in the tech start ups, one of which is ride sharing start ups where people with a bike and licence can register to the application and give ride to the customer nearby. The problem created by such technology is harassment and consequences in case of death of customer by accident. The government acted actively to fine those riders on the cause of illegal work. The pervasive news started to question the authority about the extend to which these services are providing employment and alleviating the need of riders to look for employment abroad. As a result of it, Government is to set an different rules regard this issue. If there was no questioning to authority about their archaic rules, it would have impacted to other growing tech startups too.

This is not to say that I think that this statement is the best course of action in every situation and for every person. There are certain situation in which questioning authority could lead to thwart of development and policy implementing process. For instance, if a candidate elected from a certain area begun to consider the questions on rules from different peoples wit different viewpoints then, It will obviously create conflict and hindrance in development activities. So, It is not always best to question the rules of authority.

In essence, I agree with this statement as long as it is not taken to the extreme. One cannot achieve social or political changes without questioning the authority, and certainly changes have been necessary in our history and will be necessary in future. However, certain situations do exists where an entire population adhere to this statement could find itself hindering progress and drawing somewhat arbitrary lines among people.