The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At first glance, the argument from the manager of the television station seems plausible. They decided to focus on national news at the expense of weather and local news. There seems to be some complaints about this from the viewers, advertisements from local businesses seem to have declined and overall it has lead to negative results. The assumption is that if he restores the news program to former levels, then it will attract more viewers and will avoid losing more ad revenues. Once the issue is analyzed, the argument raises some questions and the lack of evidence proves the assumptions to be flawed.

To begin, the tv station made a change to the news program. As a result "viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news". However, no context is provided to fully understand what the concern from the viewer really is. Sure, they could be concerned with the lack of time allotted to the weather and local news, but what if the change to the program occurred during the hurricane season? In this case, there is an underlying cause driving the viewer's concern. Frankly if this were the case, then it would display incompetence and lack of awareness from the people who changed the program. However, I'm just asking a question and until the manager provides more data behind this argument, we won't be able to have a full understanding of the viewer's concern.

Another point the manager makes is that the advertisements from local businesses has declined since the change to the program was made. Again, no context is provided around this point. A recession may cause the same effect, but this would not be related to the change in the program. One more scenario would be that more people get their news from the internet now, so what if they decided to focus on advertising on social media? Just like the previous scenario, this would cause the same result, a decline in business revenue.

As a result of the manager's dilemma, he reasons that if he restores the program to how it was formattedin the past, then he would stop losing advertisements and will attract more viewers. The fundamental question here is what is the definition of 'more'? What are the metrics he's utilizing to establish an increase in viewership? Is one more viewer than those he had yesterday a success in this effort? Due to the vagueness of that metric, it's hard to know if he will be ultimately successful in his endeavor.

The manager's argument that making changes to the news program has led to less viewership and advertisement revenue raises profound questions. What is the context behind this change? Is there anything occurring locally of great importance to the viewer's of the channel? Is it more effective for advertisements to reach consumers through alternate methods? And, what is the metric the manager will use to know if his new decision was successful? Unfortunately, no evidence or background information is provided by the manager, and as it stands his arguments proves to be flawed and hollow.