The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the comp

The proposal to revert the programming of the news program seems senisble at first. Pressure from viewer compliants and flaky advertisors make it seem initially that this change was ill-received; however, these claims would require further information to accurately assess to make a well informed decision on the matter. The claims identified seem rather one-sided and the information seems to be lacking important context for verification.

The primary point that should be addressed is whether the change in format attracted new viewers or advertisers. All the claims from the business manager refer to unnamed viewers or local businesses, but it can be implied that the viewers making these claims are not new viewers as they know what the previous format. The important thing to identify is whether wholisticly the shift in focus for the series led to improvements in popularity or in the public eye. Most people are afraid of change and have difficulty in adjusting, but if the focus on national news is able to spark a national audience to watch the serial then overall the increased viewership is far better for the company. The increased view numbers will allow the company to make a bigger case for national and more oppulent advertisors which will pay larger sums of money for advertising space. Which would entail higher profits for the company in spite of the negative claims.

Another point to consider is wether the change in the format led to a change in the amount of time allocated to advertisements. Squeezing in more content might have added pressure in other locations of the show, not just the local news. If the show has less advertising space, then surely the number of businesses advertising would decrease as the maximum number of advertising positions has been reduced. This would attribute the problem to the show's editor and not necessarily to the show's format for reducing the revenue.

Furthermore, the change in the total number of compliants must be analyzed. The show has evolved for a reason, and the source of the cause must be identified. If the primary factor for the show to shift focus was due to previous audience complaints for a lack of national news coverage, then a comparitive study can be performed. If the total number of compliants advocating for national news coverage was greater than the current number of complaints requesting a return to grace, then the reversion would instill more frustration in the user base. This would be due to the fickle nature of the company by teasing the viewers with a taste of what they desired as a whole, but then proving an inability to grow. Losing viewership would end up losing advertising revenue in the long run as if the viewership began to dwindle, advertisers would put their money in a more popular avenue.

Therefore, the business managers proposal to restore the prior nature of the channel seems like a rash response to initial negative criticism. More information and elaboration of the surrounding variables such as the root cause for the change and change in advertising behavior would be required to make a more informed decision.