Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those t

A college’s duty to its students is to teach the tools for them to take forward and contribute back to society. In the past, most people would not pursue a degree higher than a high-school diploma, but as society evolves and improves we are witnessing a record number of young adults enrolling in universities and pursuing higher education. These educators believe that the best way to prepare their disciples is to present them a breadth of information; however, others believe that if possible they should avoid teaching unnecessary courses. When it comes to knowledge, no information is useless, and enforcing a diverse degree offers many benefits in preparing the padawans for their future.

First, having students take courses out of their degree tends to result in well-rounded individuals. For example, in the University of California colleges, they require students to fulfill what are known as General Education requirements which encompass many different academic disciplines such as art, social sciences, and technology. The reason for such an initiative was to inform and educate students in matters outside their domain of expertise to the point that they can hold basic conversations with people from foreign subjects. The primary complaint with such a program is that students are forced to take extra courses to complete their degree which ends up costing more money and time, but the added benefit of being able to socialize with experts outside their domain of expertise increases the opportunities the graduates can obtain in the future.

Furthermore, the addition of courses outside the core curriculum facilitates cross-collaboration across the different fields of science. Take for example the case of the stochastic LDA model which was first designed by population geneticists then later applied to the field of natural language processing and linguistics. Academia is not meant to be a silo’ed environment where progress and work done in one field can only be applied to that area only. Science depends on collaboration between different disciplines to make progress and advance understanding. One issue is, however, that to apply a technique from one field to another requires a deep understanding of both fields which is not possible with a diverse educational background. Without the initial exposure to multiple backgrounds, one cannot be expected to understand what to research further and how connections can be made.

Finally, most people enter college not knowing what they like to study and what they want to do for the rest of their life. In fact, at UCI 2 out of every 3 students change their major before graduating. Most people use college as a way to explore many fields and by requiring students to take courses from different disciplines it encourages student exploration, allowing them to discover what they are passionate about. This better prepares students by allowing them to discover and set their own goals.

Thus, requiring a variety of courses in a university’s curriculum offers many benefits to the students. This requirement produces well-rounded students who have studied what they are certain that they wanted to study, and who are prepared for cross-collaborative work. With the world becoming more and more connected each day, a horizontal skill set is proving rather useful.