A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

The debate on the best way to prepare a nation's youth for the future is a timeless one. Some advocate that the responsibility for maintaining and providing resources for educating the population belongs to the country. It is commonplace in first world nations to have public schooling for all adolescents until they reach the academic maturity required for college. With the state funding and running the primary teaching ciriculum, it may come as no surprise that people would want to impose restrictions to automize the delivery as much as possible. This entails that every student receives the exact same type of education for the first 2 decades of their life. Although this makes the problem of imparting knowledge at a large scale much simpler, I believe that such a practice ends up hurting the education of the youth long-term due to its proposed strict implementation.

First, people are different and require unique education techniques. Not everyone learns the same way. Albert Einstein, one of the most brilliant minds of the past century, has said in the past something along the lines of, "judge a fish's intelligence by its ability to climb a tree and it will live the rest of its life believing itself to be stupid". The crux of his statement was that people are naturally gifted at certain things and not so much at others. If we impose a strict regime on the knowledge that students are able to obtain, we would be ignoring the variances in the natural abilities of the students. Going back to the allegory with the fish, there is no point in teaching the fish to scale a tree as it wasn't built for it. The teaching would be more effective if it was based on the student's natural talent.

Futhermore, if someone is passionate and young, they should be able to receive the support to accelerate their career and gain advantages due to their intellectual hunger. Take the recent young passionate climate-change activist Greta for example, she is still in secondary school but has made clear about her intentions of entering public policy to fix and change the world. She is facing difficulties with her institution which has her go through a common high school ciriculum devoid of visiting and networking with nation leaders and has to sacrifice many precious days of education to pursue her dream. This system actively acts as a deterent to future leaders such as Greta. So, requiring all students to adhere to a national educational plan pushes aside the passionate folks who know where they want to go and how to get there.

Finally, a common curriculum allows for unity in the nation, but defeats the purpose of academia which is to question existing morals and generate new knowledge and ideas. If everyone had the same educational background entering college, there would be a dearth of new ideas and discussion. What makes these modern libraries impactful to our society is their cosmopoliton effect with people entering with backgrounds from the sciences to the humanities which sparks conversations and facilitates cross-collaborative work. This cross-collaborative work is often what drives science and global understanding of the world further as most inventions materialize in the intersection of two disciplines. By reducing the institutional diversity of the entering class in a college, the nation stifles longitudinal collaboration because the students would take longer to specialize.

Thus, the question of what to teach the nation's youth is a complicated one. On one hand constant material leads to convenient and distributional forms of education. However, the restrictions and stifling of academic ideas utlimately lead me to disagree with such a style of education. Education of the youth should not be comprimised for ease of deployment.