The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Consolidated Industries (ci) is a retail home heating oil company requesting investment for what they believe to be upcoming and increasing business demands. they claim that the number of days of below average weather, the conventional use of heating oil in northeastern homes, and the increased number of homes being built will all contribute significantly to the increase in demand for their product. if demand for ci’s product increases then they will have more customers and require more capital to support the business and whoever invested in them would become more affluent. Whether the demand for home-heating oil will increase or not is a question whose answer depends on the veracity of the claims made.

ci makes the claim that homes in the united states where it is typically cold have used oil as the major source of in-home heating fuel in the past. One thing to consider is that what other options do homes use as their heating sources and what is currently dominating the market. Specific heating options to look for would be electrical heating or wood heating. if oil is not the dominating option that homes use then that casts doubt on the certainty of homes depending on oil as a major source of in-home heating.

Another claim that ci makes is that the northeast region of the united states experienced twenty days of below-average temperatures in the last year and are predicted to experience this for several years to come. While knowing how many days in a year it is cold is useful for someone from ci to gauge engagement with their customers, information which would be more helpful would be the relationship between below-average temperatures and oil sales. if increased oil sales were guaranteed for every below-average temperature day, then the followup question would be how are the number of below-average temperature days changing from year to year. if the number of cold days are increasing from year to year then this would support the claim of an increase in demand in home-heating supplies. if the number of cold days is expected to stay constant through the years then demand should also stay constant from year to year which refutes ci’s claim that demand will increase.

Another claim ci makes is that many new homes were built in the region. In order to understand the impact of these new homes we need to understand how many homes were abandoned or torn down in the same region. we are interested in the net increase of homes in the region because if a 100 homes were built and 100 homes were torn down, then the consumer base did not increase nor decrease. The net increase gives insight into the number of potential or future customers. More important than net increase in home numbers is the type of heating installed into these new homes: will they depend on oil, electricity, or other forms of heating to keep their inhabitants warm? if the new homes were built with dependency on oil for heating then these new homes would ideally be target customers for ci, but if not then essentially they are lost customers for ci as they would not have the means to use the product.