The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to businesss manager of a television station decreased time span of local news and weather report is reducing their show's popularity and T.R.P.; dur to that dwindled amount of viewers advertising revenue is decreasing. So for overcoming this crisis manager wants to increase time for local news and weather report as it was before. But there are many missing points in his argument like weather reports' quality and their quality of news.

He's saying that time is increased in broadcasting national news; maybe because of any national level championship or tournament those news were extra. In restricted time span one cannot present each and every general affairs. Detailed study should be doen on past year's program's and it should be compared with other station's program's. Which will give genuine idea about decreased time and why it was necessary to reduce time on those topics.

Apart from national level issue and allover effect on market understannding viewers complaint is equally important. In second line manager is drawing our attention towards complaints from viewers; in those complaints ossue is station's coverage on weather and local news. So first of all we have to find area of broadcasting; and local news aired by station is from that region or not has to be determined. Same issue is with weather. No one is going to watch weather report of delhi from washington. Station's reporter and weather experts should think on it.

Parallely with decreased time station's contract with local businesses are cancling; there are enough possibilities that these isn't effect of decreased viewership. As i mentioned above local business should be aired locally and issue of coergae will be there instead of weather and local news issue as mentioned by him. We can take example of above paragraph in advertising too.

Above issues were related to coverage but we haven't discussed about their technology used in broadcasting and recording; if they are broadcasting it on obsolete technology then viewership is going to be decreased with time. With advancement in broadcasting technology there is advancement in recotding techonlogy is worth noting. So station should improve it's technology if it's not upgraded.

After considering all possible probabilities we can say that it's not only dependent on weather report and local news's broadcasting time. This is equally dependent upon all mundane tasks done by station's workers and reporters. Manager should think upon it's decision and should consider all possible mentioned problems.