The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level."

The business manager of this television station is stating that the station is not doing as well as previous years because of the changes made to decrease time on weather and local news. He or she makes a direct correlation between decreased weather and local news to decreased advertising contracts, but does not consider other factors that could be causing this decrease in advertising contracts. The business also is losing viewers and receiving complaints on their coverage of weather and local news, and the manager believes that devoting more time to weather and local news will fix this issue. In order for his or her statement to be accurate, many thing must be assumed.

The manager says that because more time is being devoted to national news and less time to weather and local news, they are losing viewers. While the manager does say that the complaints received from viewers are concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news, it is not mentioned that this "coverage" necessarily means quantity of time being spent on weather and local news. Instead, this could just mean that their content for weather and local news is perhaps not important, or even worse, incorrect. For example, channel may spend much less time than another channel on topics like weather, but viewers will all flock towards a channel that provides more accurate weather predictions.

Another assumption that is made in the manager's argument is that the amount of advertising contracts getting cancelled is becuase of this decreased time of weather and local news coverage. For this argument to be valid, it would require evidence that other television stations lose these contracts as well because of less time spend on weather and local news. The manager also correlates this decrease in advertising revenue to the decrease in viewership. As stated before, increasing the time devoted to the news channel will only help this case if it can be assumed that the quality and accuracy of the weather and local news is up to par.

Lastly, the manager is not considering the possibility that local businesses that are cancelling their adveritsing contracts could have nothing to do with the quality or quantity of the weather and local news content. It could be possible that these local businesses believe that their advertisements are better displayed during the day instead of during late-night news programs. Moreoever, it can also be possible that the these local businesses decided that they no longer want to advertise on news programs. For the manager's solution to succeed, it must be assumed that the local businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts strictly due to the decreased time spend on weather and local news coverage.

The manager is not considering many aspects in his or her memorandum to increase their advertisment revenue and viewership. He or she is assuming many things about his television content that may not be true, nor is he or she considering other aspects of a local business not wanting to advertise during the station's late-night new program. For this manager to successfully restore their advertising revenue and gain back viewers, he or she must ensure that the assumptions that are being made are all true, or begin considering all the other possibilities that could be harming his or her station's business.