A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The core curriculum is something scorned upon by many of the students in the U.S. education system. It is a curriculum that forces all students from elementary school to high school to learn a variety of subjects that one may really use in real life. Although there are fundamental skills to be learned in elementary school and even middle school, the majority of classes taken in high school do not pertain to a student's major in college or even future career. Therefore, it would make sense to not have a set national curriculum until the student enters college.

Fundamental skills are important, but complex mathematics and detailed facts about history are not necessary for every student to learn. While basic mathematics like adding, subtracting, multiplying, and dividing are important to learn for everyday life, it is not necessary for an actor to understand how to do linear algebra, or even solve quadratic equations. Similarly, a student aspiring to be a mathematician may be forced to take classes such as early American civilization and will most certainly forget everything. All of these classes that are not necessary are really just wasted time and effort that can be spent on other things.

In a functioning advanced society, each civilian is expected to be highly specialized in certain areas of a certain field; however, the national curriculum does quite the opposite. Instead of preparing a student to start specializing in their field at a younger age, a set national curriculum will continue to have a student spend their time and energy learning topics that do not matter in their future. This results in a student that must specialize in a certain field over a shorter amount of time. Fortunately, some specialized high schools now exist in the U.S. that allow students to focus on science and technology, or perhaps arts and humanities. Consequently, these students become much successful in their field by the time they graduate college, as they have been able to specialize further than their peers.

Having a national curriculum is also not advantageous from a financial point of view either. Many wasted resources are usually being spent in high school classes that are not necessary for many students. After elementary school and middle school, students should begin to choose the type of career they are interested in. Those who are still ambivalent could choose to continue in a general pathway, but those are certain they want to study and have a career in a specific field should begin to develop their skills way before college. This way by the time the student gets to college, he or she will not have to spend valuable money to learn the fundamental skills that could have been learned in high school for free.

Having a national curriculum hurts each individual as much as the society as a whole. It does not make sense for each student to be forced to learn complex and esoteric concepts that he or she may never touch upon in his or her future career. The amount of time and effort wasted mastering these concepts could have been better used to get an early start on learning the fundamentals of a certain field. A new system will allow students to not only save money in college, but also develop more specialized skills earlier to contribute more to society.