A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

In a modern civilized society, rules and law enforcement are put in place to keep mankind in check. When these rules are broken, there would be consequences. Since every crime all occur under unique circumstances, it would not make sense to have the same punishment for every crime. In some rare cases, crime is not always intentionally committed because that individual is not mentally stable. In such cases, a special type of circumstances awaits them such as being sent to a mental hospital/asylum. Regardless of the state of each crime, an alleged criminal should not be able to retain their civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor for a finite duration.

A person who commits crime has violated a set of rules that is accepted and followed by most other people in society, and that would mean that they should not enjoy the benefits that comes with following those rules. Allowing a person to still have the rights that everyone else has means that they are still treated as equals. A criminal is not equal to everyone else because he or she has directly or indirectly hurt society. For example, a criminal who decides to rob a bank is not only endangering that particular bank branch, but also the customers and the employees directly. Indirectly, this affects all the family relatives to those people as well as the all the people that have a bank account opened at that particular bank.

Since a criminal has damaged society in a way, it does not seem logical to continue giving him or her rewards for labor. Normally in society, labor is often done for certain benefits such as money, food, or other goods. A person intentionally committing crime has taken something from society without paying for it. This could be seen as criminal's debt, something that the criminal must find a way to pay off before being accepted back into society. Today, the method and duration of payment is usually determined by the judge.

Of course it would not be right to completely strip a criminal of all his rights. For example, in the United States, criminals are protected from cruel and unusual punishments. If not, criminals could be subjugated to unmoral and unethical events. Other than a few exceptions, however, it would never by logical to allow a person who intentionally commits a crime to still exist equally with everyone else in society, much less benefit from the social contract. The government often makes criminals do public service in order for them to pay back society for the damage they have done, because it should not be okay for a criminal to commit crime for a criminal to continue earning things for their labor as they are in debt.