The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The memorandum states that building the subway system would help to improve the economy of Briggsville by increase work productivity through the system. However, this is questionable since the assumptions made lacks the evidence to support it. First, it assumes that people would become used to the subway system. Second, the statement assumes that increasing transportation will help in increasing productivity, and finally, they assume that productivity is the only factor affecting the economy of Briggsville.

The argument assumes that all the people living in that area would become inured to the subway system. This might not be true as it doesn't take into account the people who would prefer this system since for a bit older or younger person this system can be complex and difficult to understand and can lead to a decrease in productivity as they won't be able to do the work at the faster pace due to the complexity of the system implemented and the time it took them to work.

Increasing transportation won't necessarily imply that there would be an increase in productivity since they didn't consider what a person might go through daily, one who might be living alone will have to do all the work at his house and then we have to do the office work which can affect his productivity. It depends on how a person manages to live and maintain time.

Moreover, the argument assumes that productivity is the only factor that is affecting the economy which is based on a vague idea. There can be other reasons like the stock market, the damages that are been faced daily, etc. All these factors also play a major role in deciding the improvement of the economy.

All in all, the argument presented lacks evidence to support the assumptions. People may have other difficulties too which may affect their productivity along with the economy. It's not necessary that everyone would be able to understand the new system implemented which in the case would lead to loss of millions of dollar and hence this can lead to futile results.