The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie our most popular doll 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll

The memorandum from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing talks about their most popular product "Elkie", two different surveys regarding this doll suggest that it is not upto the mark when it comes to durability, based of off these responses the company has decided to follow in their competitor's footsteps and use higher quality materials. The company predicts that their profits will exceed that of their rival company Optima Doll Manufacturing. The argument in itself is not sufficient to justify whether this prediction is accurate or not.

The argument does not mention the size of the population that took the survey, the paucity of this information brings the credibility of the surveys into question. How many people were surveyed? were they all from the same locality? or was the survey carried out in different regions. For the results of this survey to be taken seriously it is important that it is able to represent the target market appropriately. Another factor about the surveys that is not known to us is the type of questions asked. Were the questions strictly regarding the durability of the dolls? or were the parents also asked about other factors like affordability and availability? If the survey was solely focussed on durability then it may be the case that there are other flaws in the product that were not revealed because the survey did not ask about them.

The survey also misses out on getting an opinion about competing products from the consumers. It could be the case that it is not just "Elkie" facing problems with durability and this might be a market wide problem in the Dolls sector, in which case switching to the same "higher quality" material as their competitor may not be useful at all. Maybe competing products are cheaper than their doll and that is why they sell more. It could be the case that "Elkie" is not available in many stores which is why it does lesser number of sales.

Another key detail that has not been mentioned is the competitor analysis, while the company has decided to switch to the same durable material used by Optimo Dolls, it is unknown whether that company is able to acheive higher sales figures as a direct of consequence of using better grade material. It could be the case that Optimo does better in sales because of its marketing strategy and the choice of material used may not have any significance, in this case Primo Dolls won't benefit from having the same manufacturing process as Optimo.

The surveys regarding the doll suggest that it is not upto the mark when it comes to durability, based of off these responses the company has decided to follow in their competitor's footsteps and use higher quality materials by doing this, the company predicts that their profits will exceed that of their rival company Optima Doll Manufacturing, this prediction is not justified as there are many other factors regarding the survey, the people that were surveyed and the business strategy of the competing company that haven't been talked about.