Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development

I disagree with the recommendation that governments should place negligible restrictions on scientific research and development. Research while allowing for innovation and development of new ideas and concepts also carries with it several dangers. More often than not scientists set off to achieve something just because it can be done and has never been done before. There is a need for a higher body like the government to ask the question of whether something should be built in the first place. Researchers don't realize the dangers of their own work until much later in the process at which point the damage is already done. This is specially applicable for research areas involving military equipment, bio-weapons etc.

Another reason why the government needs to place strict restrictions on research work is the use of living organisms in testing. Researchers in fields like medicine and skin and hair industry often carry out testing on human and animal subjects. While this is a cardinal stage of the research process, it is crucial for the government to monitor and regulate it very strictly to prevent any harm to the research participants and to make sure that no human rights are being violated in the testing process.

While it may seem like strictly regulated research and development is the way to go, such restrictions also have a caveat, too much restriction can also result in reduced innovative research output. Scientists and researchers may feel like not pursuing their ideas solely because of the amount of restrictions in place. This can have a significantly negative impact on the development of a country.

A feasible approach to tackle this problem is to reach a middle ground, government should place high restrictions on certain research areas like military equipment, bio-weapons, areas with live test subjects etc, meanwhile other research areas that consist of industries which are integral to the development of the country and Innocuous should have relaxed restrictions in comparison. This way the people can be safe and the nation can continue to further develop itself.