A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches Al

The argument predicts that the residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches than it does now, due to increase in commercial usage of salicylates. Several questions need to be answered in order to evaluate the credibility of this prediction.

Firstly, the passage does not mention any details about the medical history of the study participants, did they have a history of headaches before? if not not then it may be the case that fewer headaches were reported because the study participants never had much of a problem with headaches in the first place.

Another important detail not mentioned in the passage is if the study participants are on any medication, if the participant were to be consuming medication which contained drugs like aspirin then the reduced headaches could be in result of that.

The details of the population of the study participants is also unknown to us, was it a large enough group to consider the data universal for Mentia, were the participants from varied localities and economic backgrounds, all these details significantly affect the conclusions derived from the study.

The passage also mentions that many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, if this is the case then it is unclear whether consumption of salicylate accounts for the perceived decrease in number of headaches, if it was always naturally present if many foods then headaches would have been low to begin with, hence it might be the case that these two trends have little or no relation to each other.

In conclusion, the prediction that residenta of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches as commercial usage of salicylates increases overlooks many gaps in information and fails to answer key questions regarding the prediction , hence it may not be very likely that the prediction is near to the truth.