"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: “Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."" -

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Manned space flight is costly, why ? is the astronaut taking a million dollar to fly to space or he is taking his family so that they can spend a vacations together in space. A human mind should be always preferred over machines and one should remove the pre concieved notion that machines are better than humans,human mind is above all machines and satellites, he is the only owner of them.The argument seems to contain several fallacies with the opinion.

Firstly,the author describes that the recent develpment of unmanned spaces probes has demonstrated that a great useful informantion can be gathered, he has not presented any stats of the successfull\unsuccessfull manned space missions here.So we cannot be sure of the success of unmanned misson based on this conjecture.He should present some stats to remove this fallacy.

Secondly , the cost one.The unmanned mission is not cost free and he has not presented any stats of the cost involved in the unmanned mission is lesser by how much then the manned one.I dont think that sending a man along will substantially increase the budget of the misson.The author should present the statistics of the cost involved to prove his statement more strong, rather then vaguely describing them.

Thirdy , he is saying that machines can gather more usefull info , he is indirectly presenting the fact that brains are not capable of doing it. One should always knows that a real time human is always more efficient and capable of producing more better result than machines. For gathering informations machines are just a simulation of a human brain, so a real brain always works better. A brain is always ready for an emergency situation where as a machine just fall out at those scenerios.

Although there is a concern for the risk of human being, but one should not neglect the importance of the manned mission and the results which we get out of it. We should always think of an efficient effort rather then worrying about the risk involved in the procedure.For better tomorow , we need to think for an effective misson.