The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: “Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Working with the space related technology is very difficult.The satellites that are sent into the space for collection of data and other information, need to be well maintained and proper care adn technical maintenance should be done on a regular basis.

The authors opinion that we should send unmanned space probes and satellites rather than manned space flights is based on many assumptions.

Firstly, how will the unmanned probes and satellite collect the data/information from the satellite? Does it have a technology or high sensitivity sensors for detection of the satellite and collection of the data/information? If this is true, that the satellite uses high sensitivity sensors, the cost of these sensors and the maintenance cost required for the sensors is not mentioned. If the cost is equal to the cost of sending the manned sapce flight then what is the need of changing the currently existing model.

Secondly, can the unmanned space probe and satellite perform repairs on the satellite(from which the information is colllected)? If not then a man/woman is needed to repair. The method of data collection is not mentioned by the author, if the data is not collected properly or of this causes damage to the satellite then this will be more costly than sending a manned space flight and will make the argument unwarrented.

The success rate of unmanned space probe and satellite is assumed to be 100%. If this is false that the success was 10% then although it is a success , it shows ot needs to be tested further,berfore taking any further actions, else this will incure the country a loss of huge amount of money and resources.What percent is unmanned space probe and satellite.

The risk associated with sending men and women into space is very high,but there are few things which are done properly by a man/women rather than a robot/unmanned vehicle.If any of the assumption stated by the author is false, then this would jeopradize the entire argument and all the implications of the argument will prove to be unwarrented.