"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: “Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."" -

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the argument author specifies that manned space flight is costly and dangerous compared to the unmanned space flight which is not true because there are some other reasons which author fails to mention.

It is the natural ability of human beings to do mistakes. When man went to space he had not gathered the right information which was to intended to gather because of some problems like he might be suffering from illness or it might be oxygen scarcity problems or it might be the variation in temperature.

It is also possible that the information gathered by men are correct and the analysis done by people might be wrong because they are unskilled. Proper analysis of human gathered information has to be carried out in order to get the required result. Ways of doing the analysis might be different because of which they were unable to arrive at a conclusion.

When unmanned flight went to the space there might be no impediments due to which it was able to collect the right information or the information gathered by the unmanned flight might be wrong and no proper analysis is done on it and therefore they might have concluded that manned space flight is costly and dangerous compared to the unmanned space flight

To sum it up, author have mentioned manned space flight is costly and dangerous compared to the unmanned space flight but fails to provide enough proof. Thorough study has to be done before reaching to the conclusion. Without proper evidences it is impossible to conclude that manned space flight is costly and dangerous compared to the unmanned space flight.