The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell Two years ago the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel During the past two years tourism in Ocean View has increased new bu

In the memo from the mayor, it is recommended that the town of Hopewell build a golf course and a resort hotel to improve its economy. The author made this recommendation based on the premise that the town of Ocean View which has established these facilities, started to attract tourists, new business ventures and generated additional tax revenues. However, the argument that the recommendation is based on, has made the following assumptions.

First of all, the author prematurely assumed, without evidence, that the increase in the number of tourists and the new business establishments are solely due to the new golf course and resort hotel. But, it’s possible that these new businesses were opened in Ocean View because of the customer demand for a particular product that the companies are supplying. For example, if there is a dearth of oil supply in the Ocean View town, it’s possible that this demand could attract a few oil-supplying companies to establish their branch in the town and not because of the new golf course or the resort. If the above scenario has merit, the recommendation by the mayor is of little to no help to improve the economy of the city.

Secondly, the author assumed, without evidence, that whatever applied to the Ocean View city also applies to the Hopewell city. Even if the improvement of the economy is due to the newly built golf course and resort in Ocean View, the same may not be applicable to the Hopewell city. Perhaps, the tourists are attracted to Ocean View town because there might be a beach in the town and the resort could host tourists while they stayed there. But in the case of Hoperwell city, the tourists may not show interest because of the lack of tourist places there. And if a resort is built in Hopewell, it may end up gathering dust and may not provide any additional revenues. If this is true, the recommendation that Hopewell city should build a new golf course and resort, doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on a various unwarranted assumptions. And the recommendation may not be very helpful owing to the above-mentioned assumptions, if the assumptions don’t hold. Only after the relevant evidence is provided, the Hopewell town should heed to this recommendation.