The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell Two years ago the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel During the past two years tourism in Ocean View has increased new bu

It is recommended by the city manager that Bridge Bay should resume the contract with the Arko Trash collection company for the service of local garbage collection. The author recommended this based on the premises: the number of visits to the local beach has decreased significantly, and the Ocean Harbor, where the Arko is providing garbage collection, was experiencing unprecedentedly high attendance. However, two questions need to be answered before evaluating the argument and the recommendation that follows.

Are the conditions at Ocean Harbor roughly comparable to those at the Bridge Bay beach? It is possible that Bridge Bay beach is much larger than Ocean Harbor beach and hence needs more workforce than Ocean Harbor. Maybe, the visitors carry a lot of packed food to the beach because of the lenient rules employed at Bridge Bay beach, which allowed the visitors to litter more. Perhaps, the Arko Trash Collection might have done an even worse job managing the garbage there. If the above scenario is true, the recommendation that Bridge Bay resume the contract with Arko Trash Collection doesn’t hold water.

Even if the garbage collection is poor at Bridge bay beach, can the decrease in the attendance at Bridge Bay beach be attributed to the poor garbage collection there? Perhaps, the visitors are not really bothered by the amount of garbage accumulated there. Maybe they were upset with the kind of street food available there and chose to go to Ocean Harbor beach for better street food to enjoy while they stayed at the beach. It is also possible that Ocean Harbor had introduced some fun activities like motorboat riding, surfing, etc., which might have attracted the audience there instead of going to the Bridge Bay beach. If either of the above scenarios has merit, then the recommendation does little to no help to increase the audience at the Bridge Bay beach.

Even if the decline in the number of visitors can purely be ascribed to the poor garbage management by Satellite Waste Corporation, will the customers return to the beach even if the beach resumes its contract with Arko? It is likely that Bridge Bay beach had lost its reputation among the people, and its popularity had decreased over the months. Perhaps, the visitors were very annoyed by the poor garbage collection at Bridge Bay and were concerned about their health. If this is true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to various unwarranted assumptions. The above-mentioned questions need to be answered to thoroughly evaluate the recommendation that Bridge Bay should resume the contract with Arko Trash Collection.