The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends Monarch Books to open a cafe in its store, because such refinement could help it attract more customers and win competition with its potential rival. To support his/her claim, the author cites traditional advantages of Monarch Books, declines of anticipation of children's books, and possible competition from Regal Books. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her line of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether such changes have no further impact for the traditional wide ranges provision of books, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that elimination of one of existing book provision could vitiate satisfactions from customers, because they might be disappointed with original book services for their children have been suddenly displaced with cafe. Without additional information to evaluate such satisfaction possibility, it is of equal likelihood that beside parents, children would also disgust to join the book store any more. Those phenomena could seriously challenge the author's supposition of few influence caused by such changes and render his/her reasoning much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that both parents and children have no negative attitude, or indifferent for such changes would strengthen his/her viewpoint.

Granted that no further disgust from previous customers and given the fact that original section for children would be changed into cafe service, whether opening cafe in the preserved section could attract more customers needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that there exists more customers liking to enjoy cafe rather than reading together with their children in book store. The probability that majority of customers who came to book store just serve to study and play with their children must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that almost all of customers don't consider book store as place to participate their children's study, his/her stance will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that children under age ten represents the major audiences for Monarch Books in children-reading section. While it is shown that percentage of the population under age ten has been declined drastically, the probability that the overall children's percentage might inversely increase could not be excluded in advance. For example, increase of children for studying during this district might concentrate on the elder ages. Thus, we have no clues whether children's requirement to ready or study in Monarch Books are also decreasing similarity to those under age ten. If no, it is likely to reserve children's specific section could still help book store win more customers. Otherwise, if overall trend of children studying in book store fit for the tendency of those under ten, the author's viewpoint about cutting of children's section seems tenable.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for a moment that children doesn't comprise the major customers of Monarch Book and replacement with cafe could help attract more customers, it remains to be seen whether cafe additions could compete successfully with Regal Books. Other factors, such as management efficiency and profit return of Monarch Book, could readily compete with the one alleged in the argument. If Monarch Book manage poorly in advanced management team and existing profits don't support them to make such changes, this is doubtful that the author's suggestion is worth to put into practice and help it win the business game against Regal Books.

In summary, while switching children's reading section to cafe place seems appealing, this is a conclusion that we cannot derive from the information available in the argument. Furthermore, even if such change doesn't impact original customers' impression, whether such suggestion could gain the author's expectation is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.