The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The posited argument states that the board of directors suggest that replacing the children’s book section by opening a new café would attract more customers and would provide a competition to Regal books. In order to decide whether this recommendation is likely to have predicted results following questions need to be answered.

The foremost question that arises is that the most recent census suggests a decline in population of children under 10 but does it show a pattern of declination? If not, then it is possible that the population of this category could increase overtime and then would result in losing customer. The second question that arises is whether the cost of operating a café would be less than the revenue generated by the café? If not, then not only the bookstore would lose some customer but also could face loss in the business.

Another question which comes to mind is that did Regal books earned good profit and customers after opening their café? if no, then competing with them would not require opening of a new café. One more question that can be raised is that are there a greater number of cafes in the neighborhood of Monarch Books? If yes, then adding one more café to it would not help gain more customers. Furthermore, question such as percentage or number of customers Monarch books had for the children section is also a factor that would affect the business. If Monarch Books had many customers for children section then closing it would not be an ideal path.

If the decision is made in favor of closing the children’s section still a question that arise is that Is the café space sufficient for handling decent number of customers at the same time. As insufficient space or congested café would increase negative reviews about the café resulting in decrease of customers. The last question that could be a factor affecting the decision to be made is that whether there is necessity for opening a new café? because, if the revenue that Monarch Books get currently are sufficient to compete with Regal Books then adding a café by removing a section of book store could have negative impact.

Hence, after getting answers of the above-mentioned questions we can suggest that would the recommendation provide the predicted results.