The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, the high quantity of customers in the last years probably indicates that they like the business model that has been implemented until this moment. In this sense, it is doubtful that opening a café is the solution for obtaining a competitive advantage and increase the number of clients. The best way, in my opinion, to establish if a café is an incentive for people to go to a library, is to make a survey on the things that they appreciate the most in the library, and on the possible influence that the possibility of having a coffee there would have on their frequency on going there. If the results establish that few clients would start going more if a café was installed, an economic viability analysis should be done, in order to determine if the inversion is profitable.

Secondly, it is undeniable that the number of children in the zone is decreasing. However, this fall can imply, as a counterpart, that parents may be having less offspring. If this were true, it would mean that they would have more money per child, supposing that their acquisitive power has not diminished in the last years. Consequently, as they have more money to spend, it is possible that they are able to buy more books for their children, thus not decreasing the demand of this genre. Hence, if this hypothesis was proved true, the decrease in the number of children’s books would be harmful for the library, and it would be needed a study to determine if the café would attract enough people to guarantee that this economic loss is covered. To establish if this hypothesis is veritable, a sociological study of the all-aged population of the zone should be developed, in order to determine if the decline in the number of births is due to the emigration of people to other zones. This study should be combined, as well, with a survey on the income of every family, to infer if their acquisitive power has dropped. Finally, it should also include a section to ask them how much money they expect to spend in the next months in books for their children, to determine if they are spending more or less than before.

Finally, regarding the mention of a new competitor in the sector, the paragraph does not clearly state if both libraries sell the same kind of books, so it may be supposed that their typical client profile might be different. For example, it would not be hare-brained to think that the other shop only sells comics, as there are many businesses like this in every city. Furthermore, as clients are different, it would have sense that their interests were distinct. In this case, it would be plausible that, although a café is the key for success in their competitor’s shop, it is not a good idea to install it in this library. To solve this, more information about the clients’ profile of the competitor’s business should be obtained. If the typical client was similar to that of Monarch Books, this recommendation could be adequate.