The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

First of all, it cannot be inferred that current trends will be the same over the next 50 years. Societies change a lot over time, so does the interest in enrolment in some colleges. For example, if this university was one of the best in the world during these years, but did nothing to maintain or improve its success, it is highly probable that other universities surpassed it in terms of teaching quality, investigation and fame amongst students. Thus, as it is not established if there is a development plan for keeping constant the fame of the university, it cannot be directly inferred that enrolment will go up in the next years. A more fact-based prognostic of the future should be done in order to establish if this trend might be long-lasting.

Secondly, further information about the future evolution of house rent near that college might be needed to determine if prices will bust, fall or remain approximately constant. If a market study is conducted, and it is determined that housing prices will decrease in the next years, it can be inferred that the built of new dormitories may not be necessary.

Thirdly, there is no evidence in the paragraph that the existence of an appealing place to live in is a factor that has an important influence in the selection of a college to study. It is plausible that the teaching quality, as well as the main facilities that are held by that university, are more, or at least equal, tempting parameters that make people decide to engage there. In order to establish the most valuable characteristics that made students select that university among others, a survey on that may be extremely useful.

In conclusion, to estimate the possible advantage on enrolment that the construction of new dormitories would bring, a prognostic of future enrolment in the university, an economic study on the evolution of rents, and a survey on the main parameters that a student finds valuable in deciding which university he wants to be enrolled, are found necessary.