Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Nowadays, it is not uncommon that students in the United States do not have enough money to study in university. This leads to the missing of really good students, who could have succeeded in life. Because of this, I am convinced that university should be free to all admitted students that cannot afford the tuition.

If this policy was implemented, many people would be able to succeed in life, as university studies would be more accessible. For example, there are many cases, such as Bill Gates, that could not afford going to university, so they had to work in order to obtain enough money to study. If he had not been able to work to earn that money, he would not have been as crucial to technology development as he has been. This example can be applied to other people whose job has helped the develop of nowadays society.

However, in my opinion, if universities were funded by governments, they should be public and controlled by the state, as the money needed to guarantee a quality education would come from the pockets of all the American people. This would mean that no private foundation would earn benefits by educating people, because all the money invested in universities would come from people’s salaries.

Nevertheless, it should also be mentioned that offering free university education would mean to increase taxes, and rich people would have to pay a higher amount of money than poor ones. In this sense, it is plausible that the wealthiest do not support this measure, as it would mean that poorer people, who paid less taxes than them, would study for free, with scholarships based fundamentally upon their money. As the United States is a democracy, it is clear that they would vote for the candidate that establishes that the tuition should be paid by students in any case, so it may be difficult to pass a law that guarantees free education for them.

In conclusion, I am convinced that free university education for people who are admitted to universities but cannot pay the tuition should be guaranteed, in order to attain more equity and do not waste the intelligence of many people.