The following is a recommendation from the director of personnel to the president of

Professional Printing Company.

"In a recent telephone survey of automobile factory workers, older employees were less likely

to report that having a supervisor present increases their productivity. Among workers aged 18

to 29, 27 percent said that they are more productive in the presence of their immediate

supervisor, compared to 12 percent for those aged 30 or over, and only 8 percent for those

aged 50 or over. Clearly, if our printing company hires mainly older employees, we will

increase productivity and save money because of the reduced need for supervisors."

The argument has some flawed assumptions and lack certain statistics, and detailed analysis. Workers aged 18 to 29, will be most inexperienced people, so it’s agreeable that they need supervisors to have more progress on the work. However, along with the age the need for supervision reduces, and workers can work independently.

But, in the argument there isn’t any quantitative estimate of productivity when the statistics is presented. It may happen that, workers in their young age are more productive and valuable to the company than the older age people. People in their early career can be more productive quantitatively because of their persisting enthusiasm and no other social commitments; while the older age group are generally burdened with the family responsibility, and moral thoughts, because of which they mostly prefer supervising the young workers instead of doing the work by themselves.

So it’s quite possible that, the older age people work as supervisor to the younger age group. So the productivity of both are interdependent on each other. But this scenario has been completely ignored in the assumption. The people beyond 50 should be asked if they will be able to handle all the workloads if they will function as a majority of the employees and there will be very less number of young employees.

Also, if the company hires mainly older employee, then it would have to pay them more owing to their prior work experiences. So there needs to be a strong estimation and critical analysis of the cost to company for an employee vs productivity of the employee.

The argument hasn’t been able to provide a reliable information from the survey that, how many employees from the 3 types of age groups were surveyed. If the sample set of the number of employees different groups are largely uneven, then the data can provide a biased view. Since, the younger age people are more excited to take the survey, the most aged employees might have skipped it.

To have a better business model to increase productivity, the company needs to observe the total productivity per employee for different groups and needs to take account other factors such as if there is a harmony in between different age-groups of employee and everyone’s productivity relies on each other.