The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of the Grove College suggests that remaining all-female strategy will improve morale among pupils and easier to persistently get financial aid from alumnae. Still, the argument is rife with skewed assumptions that the author has to address.

Firstly, the writer says that he or she wants to stay all-female status because 80 percent of the students want to remain all female and half of the alumnae oppose the male application policy. Nevertheless, the assumption here is that the questionnaire is enough representative. It is possible that the content of the questionnaire is not fully-representative at all. For example, it only samples 10% of the students in Grove College and even 80% of 10% of students are against the male application, it is barely to reflect the mind of the major people. Maybe most of the pupils agree with the male admission policy instead. Thus, the writer has to consider the assumption and it is suggested to use a 3rd-party survey institution for double-checking.

Besides, the writer claims that not compelling to the opinion of alumnae would lose financial aid from them and reduce the income. The assumption here is that the alumnae offer much more money than it is from male students. However, the income from male pupils could be much higher than the financial aid from alumnae. For instance, the financial contribution of alumnae occupies only 10% of the income of Grove College, yet the beneficial gain from male students could make the whole income double. As a result, the school will become richer after admitting male students to Grove College rather than poor. The president needs to handle with the assumption to make the argument more cogent.

Additionally, the president proposes that the importance of the survey outdoes the opinion from faculty members. The assumption here is that the survey results are more wise and correct for the admission decision than those from faculties. Still, it is possible that the faculties member with professional financial from world-class institutions and they already have deep studies in the related policy for more than ten years. Furthermore, their reputation of the top-ranking journal has to be reckoned with. Thus, the opinion from these experts is more valuable than the survey results from students. The author is suggested to consider the assumption and to provide the credential background of their faculties.

In conclusion, readers could not believe the argument unless the president could cope with the assumptions mentioned above.