"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Work by, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply ultraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument suggests that we should use UltraClean rather than liquid hand soaps because fewer patient infection and more bacteria reduction. some musing over evidence before taking any steps is first very much in order.

The author suggests that UItraClean could produce more bacterial reduction than conventional liquid hand soaps on the based of the laboratory studying. however, some of credentials of the background of the laboratory and testing methodologies should be presented before we trust the laboratory results. if the laboratory is a famous and authoritative institution having many successful experiences in hygienic studying, there are a lots of professors and experts making plenty of credible publications, then we could trust the report. On the contrary, if the laboratory is one of the company department and that company sells UltraClean, then we are not sure if there is any inclination or bias in the studying. For example, if the company wants to sell the <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>machine, their testing content could be designed as like following: Separating two groups of people, first group of people using traditional liquid soaps wash their hand only in 10 seconds, on the other side, the other group clean their hand with <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>with 20 seconds. Therefore, we could expect that <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>eradicate more bacteria than soaps due to longer cleaning time. The author has to offer the detail background and the validity of the laboratory studying results to strengthen the argument.

Even if the studying report is impartial, authoritative and credible, it still lacks of evidence to convince <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>could be useful in the hospital. The argument seems to imply that the better results in the laboratory proves that also works well in the hospital, however the connection is unclear. if all workers and patients in the hospitals follow the same procedure to use <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>as experts did in the laboratory, they’re sure to gain approximate results. however, it could be different story if they use <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>in improper way in the hospital, then the effectiveness is unknown. For instance, patients who don’t know how to use or operate <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span> do not follow the guideline of <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>, they really do not clean their hand actually because they just apply water instead of the essential cleaning liquid or medicine. thus, under such condition, the performance of <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>could be worse than soaps. The author has to provide the essential information about the usage of hospitals and laboratory to make the argument cogent.

Additionally, the arguments claims that fewer cases of patient infection than other hospitals during the test of <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>. some details of credentials about comparison is unclear. The statement could be true, because other hospitals have the identical scale, departments and environments, before the testing, the infection rate of testing group and placebo groups are the same every year, the comparison results would be meaningful. Nevertheless, if the comparison groups is located in the hot area and nearby the garbage factory, they could have higher infection rate than the hospital tested with <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">UltraClean </span>because higher temperature and dirty environment make bacterial proliferating and flourishing. thus, the author is necessary to provide the counterpart evidence to fortify the arguments.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide more details of evidence mentioned above to make the argument more persuasive and convincing.