The following report appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors.

"A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It can be agreed that dementia is a serious matter of concern amongst the senior populace. It is also commendable that the the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors wants to address this issue by introducing a social dancing room for elderly people. But before this proposal is approved it becomes necessary to identify the flaws behind the justification provided by the newsletter itself.

First of all, the newsletter talks about a novel therapy being found to tackle the case of dementia. But the first line in the argument mentions only of a significant decrease but fails to attribute numbers to this claim as the word "significant" is left hanging for people to construe. If, for instance, only 20 people from 10000 cases seem to show an improvement then the statement loses its weight. Adding on to this, no statistical measure has been displayed for the reader to interpret about the sample space of study. If only a certain sector of aging population has been studied and fortunately show positive results of such a test, the argument further takes a toll. The term "aging" also does not help in providing information about the age groups that the survey has taken into consideration. There is a wide spectrum of an aging population and only a handful of them might have been studied. Certain activities suit only to a specific group and due to a vagueness in the structure of the argument, it remains a possibility that only the best of the pool has been studied.

Continuing from the previous paragraph's argument regarding the age group under study, the newsletter warrants some skepticism regarding the choice of activities under consideration. The newsletter provides no demographic information about the citizens who actually are sufferring from dementia. Therefore, it is difficult to accept whether every aging person can indeed perform laborious activities mentioned such as tennis. It could be plausible case that dancing could not be even an option for most of the people who are suffering from dementia living in the society. This is a major crusading point that can single-handedly lacerate the argument. How can the newletter possibly assume that every citizen of the independent living apartments would agree lest participate in social dancing activities? No survey incorporating this facet has been shown in the argument. The newsletter simply extrapolates a 21-year study to all aging population. This brings me to the mentioned survey itself. The study could have been concentrated for a particular year and a particular region which is a very non mathematical way of theorizing a novel approach.

Lastly, the newsletter also mentions that this scheme would be cost-effective. Numbers are not crunched while stating this claim. There is a possibility that building such a dance floor could in turn be sybaritical in comparison to the house staffs or assisted living apartments. The exact costs of the proposal should be mentioned before claiming such a theory to be applied as soon as possible.

In denouement, it can be stated that the points mentioned in the paragraphs not only stick out the flaws but also provide relevant solutions to the proposal which should be incorporated before being considered for further involvment.