"It takes a village to raise a child." The education of your children is the task of the community as a whole, not merely the province of teachers and local school administrators.

In 30 minutes, compose an essay on the quotation above. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the views expressed in the quotation. In doing so, be sure to explain the reasoning behind your taking this position. Consider to what degree the statement may or may not be true; take this into account in your discussion. You may not write on any other topic.

The statement might seem correct at first sight as the author might want to put forward the idea of social psychology. It is agreeable that a certain amount of development of a child's etiquettes, behaviour and mind set is decided by the social factor but the certainity or the amount of dependance remains a point of analysis. A village does have a particular ideology which could have been followed for centuries and it might have a postive effect upon a child or a learner in particular. However, it is deemed necessary to consider the in depth effects of these factors in the raising of a child.

Stressing upon the traditions of villages in the previous paragraph, the same point can be used against the statement of the issue itself. It is likely that the idiosyncracies of villagers might be backward in nature hindering the real growth of children in the region. If the whole society becomes responsible for the growth of a child and inures them with their ideology inspite of having contrasting view with the child, blinkered and parochial views of the child is sure to be developed. An inquisitive question from a child cane be suppressed by the age-old traditions followed by the villagers. An inconoclast can be suppressed from his/her rebellion if the their ideas seem the contradict the community's.

As we speak about the curious and primodial questions arising in the minds of children, it can be better addressed on a personal level. Parents would try their best for their children and would not encumber their development only on the basis of traditions if required. Schools can have individual attention and each of them can have their set of teaching scrupules for imparting education. Different teaching institutions inveterating various methods of teaching and not relying solely on the village's principles can lead to a healthy competition amongst them which in turn could benefit the students itself. Adding on the topic of teaching in schools, the fact that individual educators can have a spectrum of skill sets for teaching could lead to better handling of students who themselves are unique in nature.

Lastly, it seems necessary to point out that if the whole village has a restrictive and non urbane mindset towards social and humanitarian factors, the development of the child can be limited. If local schools do promote modern methods of education and improvement in skill sets, it should be appreciated rather than bringing in and imposing the principles followed by villages or the community as a whole. The students can definitely benefit from such an open mindset of education and move forward in life towards higher education as an example. Many anecdotes can be found in today's world which does support the arguments stated in this essay. Leaders such as Abraham Lincoln came forward from humble backgrounds, not blinkered by the ideologies followed in his town. If Marie Curie didn't get support on the teachings from very specific teachers, we would not have awed upon the tremendous utility of the radioactive powers and she would have remained a victim of a patriarchial mentality of the contemporary society.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the community does play a role in the amelioration of a student's mentality but it cannort be averted as a necessity which is paraphrased by the idiom "Charity begins at home". If a child is raised properly, external matters rarely dither them from the right track. A lotus does bloom in turbid waters and so can children with help from specific people as well.