The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.'

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are several pieces of information that are missing in the argument which are crucial, and thus need to be supplied before any conclusion can be made or any action can be taken. There is no mention of the number of movies produced in the past year by the production company, just the observation that the total number of people that have attended the production house's movies have decreased. This does not imply that the crowd attendance per movie has decreased, as it can be the case that the number of movies produced in the last year is lesser than usual. Even if a similar number of movies were produced, a lesser number of shows might have been presented this year by the theaters. Thus, crowd attendance per movie, a number of shows per movie are some of the facts that need to be taken into consideration.

The percentage of positive reviews cannot by itself indicate anything of significance, as there are more things to be known before like reputation of the reviewers giving a negative or a positive review, as a good review from a well-reputed reviewer will carry more weight than a negative review from a new reviewer. A detailed study of the number and nature of the reviewer and his review has to be made before anything can be inferred from the reviews.

Furthermore, there is no information regarding movie-wise reviews, which show the reviews of the movie along with a measure of how well they were received by the crowd. This information is necessary to determine if there really was a mismatch between a good movie review but a cold reception by the audience. Another important factor that needs to be taken account of is movies released in the past year from all other production companies.

If a lot of better movies than the ones from the production company as reviewed by the critics have been released, then it can be expected that the response to the movies of the production company would have reduced, with the movie reviews being positive but the competitors being better. So, a quantitative evaluation of movies by the reviewers should be provided to find out the real cause of the drop in the response from the audience. If quantitative evaluation rates the company's movies lower than other movies in the past year, then the movie quality is a reason that the company needs to work on.

Thus, it is hasty to conclude a requirement for higher advertising, and the above-mentioned factors should be considered before a conclusion is reached.