The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Super Screen Movie Production Company has stated that a lack of attendance at their movies is not due to poor quality, but rather due to a lack of public awareness that the movies are of good quality. Because of this claim, the production company has recommended that a larger portion of their budget should be spent on advertising in order to increase movie attendance. However, to best review this recommendation and its core argument, further questions should be asked.

First, are there other factors that might account for why movie attendance was lower this year than other years, rater than just lack of awareness? Based on the answer to this question, are there other areas that the production company would be better to invest their budget in? Finally, the production company has also stated that the increase in positive reviews is only in response to specific Super Screen movies; what about the percentage for all of the Super Screen movies? Is there still a trend of increased ratings? By answering these questions, the production company might be able to better address exactly why movie attendance was so low, and whether it was truly due to a lack of advertising over other variables. In doing so, it could be determined whether or not their original recommendation was reasonable.

Movie attendance can be based upon a wide range of factors, from theatre location to food availability to quality of movies offered. The production company has chalked up low attendance due to lack of advertising, but they have yet to address other potential confounds. For example, it might be possible that movie attendance was lower this year because people had less spare change to spend on movies. This would be due to financial reasons, not due to a lack of advertising on the production company's end. In addition, it might also be possible that people were attending movies less because they would rather wait and rent the movies on their TV's at home. Again, this would not be due to a lack of advertising, but rather a developing preference for the accessibility of movies at home. If the production company could answer this question, it would likely help them pinpoint the reason, or reasons, that movie attendance was lower. If it truly was due to a lack of advertising, then the production company's claim would be reasonable, but this could only be determined by ruling out other confounds.

If lower attendance wasn't due to failed advertising, it might be unreasonable to recommend investing the budget in more marketing. Rather, there might be other areas the company should invest in, such as more movie theatre loactions that could provide easier accessibility to customers. Again, by exploring the answer to this question, the company could come up with a more reasonable recommendation for their budget.

The company also stated that there was an increase in ratings to specific movies, but is this generalizable for all of their movies? If so, then the company is reasonable in suggesting that they have good quality movies, and can rule out this being a factor in low attendance. However, if the increase in customer ratings is only for certain movies, then it might be unreasonable to argue that all their movies are of good quality. In other words, the movies that didn't have an increase in positive reviews might be due to poor quality films, and it is therefore difficult for the company to claim that all their movies have good quality. By answering this question, the company could better claim whether or not their movie quality had any effect on attendance rates.

The company has suggested that lower attendance was not due to their movie quality, but rather due to limited advertising, causing them to recommend a greater investment of their budget into marketing. However, several questions must be adressed to see if this argument is valid, including reviewing all possible confounds that might have influenced movie attendance instead of just advertising. In doing so, the company might be able to discover other reasons for low attendance, or they might find more evidence to support their claim. Regardless, the company should investigate all potential reasonings in order to make the most informed claim and determine the best area to allocate their budget.