The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While competition is certainly one of the forces that could be used to prepare younger generations for leadership in different fields, I would agree that the best way to prepare them would be through instilling a sense of cooperation in them. From a young age, this sense can be developed through teamwork activities, school projects, and starter jobs. Unlike the values of competition, the values of cooperation can be developed into successful leadership skills, which will not only prepare younger people for leadership roles, but will set them up to thrive in these environments.

A key aspect of any good leader is the ability to listen and respect the opinions and ideas of those around you. In turn, the leader will be able to adapt policies for the betterment of the environment while also earning the respect and trust of their peers, which will only serve to push them to become an even better leader. On the other hand, if competition is instilled over a sense of cooperation, it is likely that the leader will only adopt ideas that are suited to benefit himself, while also losing the respect from their colleagues. For example, my coworkers and I were recently being evaluated for a promotion to a supervisor job. Naturally, as we all were vying for the position, a sense of competition was in the air. However, this driving competition force compelled some of my coworkers to do outlandish things that benefited only themselves at the expense of others, such as sabotaging other coworkers behind their backs in order to get ahead in the competition for the promotion. However, it was not the coworker that gave into the competition the most; rather, it was the coworker that performed the job best by respecting the colleagues around her, listening to their ideas, and doing her best to excel at her job while also making sure her peers excelled as well. In other words, the coworker that had the strongest sense of cooperation was the one best suited for the leadership position, as the qualities that come along with a sense of cooperation are often hand in hand with leadership qualities.

This sense of cooperation can be instilled at a young age, from teaching cooperation through teamwork in sports activties to working together on school projects. In doing so, younger people are taught the values that can help develop them into a strong leadership role. Once these children grow up, this sense that has been developed into leadership skills will only thrive in envrionments such as government, industry, or other fields. One might argue that a sense of competition can also push younger people in the direction of leadership by promoting a person to be the very best out of the group, which might be a charactersitic of a leader. However, just because someone has outcompeted everyone and has excelled in a position does not necessarily mean they would make a good leader. This sense of competition will only want to make them continue to compete, and once they are a leader and at the top already, what will they do then, if there is nobody else left to compete against? In other words, once they have become a leader, if they only have competition values rather than cooperation values, they will not be able to lead properly because they will not know how to work well with others, which is a key aspect of leadership.

The claim that society should instill values of cooperation in younger people in order to best prepare them for leadership roles is one that I completely agree with. Rather than promote values of competition, which will only serve to benefit the individual competiting at the expense of everyone else, values of cooperation teach respect and innovation. In other words, cooperation values give rise to leadership skills in people, which they can begin developing from a young age.