The following is taken from a memo from advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen Movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but public's lack of awareness that good movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument relies on a number of unsupported assumptions to decide on the fact that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. The arguments are unwarranted as they are not supported by evidences and facts in favour of them. Thus, they may be clearly refuted using stronger counter arguments and eventually they can fall apart.

Firstly, the argument states that, a recent report says that fewer people attended Super screen movies last year than in any other year. This argument does not consider the various categories the report may have taken into account to give out a conclusion. Did the report consider all the locations where Super Screen movies were on-screen or it was just some of the locations ? Was the source feeding information to the report genuine and reliable? Maybe it was the price of the movies which reduced the number of viewers. Maybe it was the lack of satisfying amenities given to the viewers by the associated movie theaters, which lead to the reduction. The report may have considered some group of areas where most viewers like romantic movies but the Super Screen Movies had been producing action movies for a while. Unless these questions and doubts are properly answered we cannot go by the conclusion given by the report. Thus, the argument fails to prove valid here.

There's another argument that takes into consideration the reviewers who have positively reviewed the movies by Super Screen. The argument states that there is an increase in the number of positive reviews by reviewers. The argument is simply considering the percentage of the reviews. The type of reviewers is not at all considered. Maybe all these reviewers, or a large part of them are action movie reviewers and they really liked the action sequences with the VFX used in the scenes, which did not go in harmony with the viewers considered in the report, who may like romantic movies. So, the type of reviews is big question mark here.

Thus, this argument also holds invalid, without proper evidences.

Lastly, the argument states that the contents of the reviews are not reaching people and they are not aware about the good quality movies. In this argument, the viewers maybe aware of all the movies, but they may have chosen not to go for one. The reason could be any of the above mentioned reasons, namely the genre, price, location of theater, facilities, etc. Thus, directly jumping to some conclusion with vague arguments is clearly a mistake.

Likewise, the assumptions in this argument renders vague and inconsistent in many ways to prove that the argument invalid. And unless these arguments are provided evidential support, they are susceptible to counter attacks and be proved invalid.